Toddler Classes

I’m having a hard time finding organized classes for the boys. I was excited to see that there was a Gymboree Play and Music nearby and a play cafe too, sadly both closed their doors before we moved to the Twin Cities.

I found a few indoor playgrounds (which will be AMAZING during the winter and rainy days). I signed them up for a Music Together class which I know will be good, but found out we were the only ones signed up and the class might be canceled.

I’m sure once the nicer weather comes along we will find playgrounds and parks to explore.

Today we went to a toddler time at a local Rec center and we literally were the only ones there for a while! It was nice having the space to play and run without worrying about others but WHERE ARE ALL OF THE PEOPLE?!?!?!

I’m really hoping to find some organized classes or play areas meant for kids.

I won’t get discouraged, I’ll keep looking for great opportunities for us in our new home. If anyone had any leads or suggestions, I would love to hear them!! This mama needs some play date to visit with other mamas and keep her sanity (or what’s left).

Advertisements

What I’ve learned so far today…and it’s only nap time!

H and I decided to check out the local library for story time today! I was excited to check out a new library and a new kids area. The two pictures above are as still and quiet as he was the entire time we were there. Let’s just say we didn’t make it through the 30 minute story time! The library sang and even had a mandolin. I was feeling it! H needs to run and climb. I’ll be signing up for a membership at a nearby indoor playground ASAP!!!

Below, check out that picture! It’s 39 degrees Fahrenheit and he’s in a short sleeve shirt (and missing shoes???). Clearly he’s acclimated to the Minnesota weather! We are all ready for spring time! We will take any outside time we can get!

I love these boys so much and I’m exhausted today…I thought maybe I’ll sneak a rest! Ha! WRONG! Neither boy wants to nap or rest today! Also, I wonder how long I’ve been walking around with peanut butter on my scarf. Happy Wednesday!

Preschool/PreK

What is everyone’s view on this topic? When I was 3 I went to 2 day preschool and when I was 4 I went to 3 day preschool.

The options seem to differ from area to area. I’ve see programs from 2-5 days, half days and whole days.

We chose 3 days this year and 5 days next year (half day). We did this since we thought that our kids seem to be extremely social since we have socialized them with peers since they were born! I credit this to Gymboree Play and Music and the wonderful Momfia crew that was created from there! (Although, Gymboree was totally for my sanity when L was 8 weeks old. I’m so grateful for the friendships that truly turned into family.)

The choice we made for L with school night not be the same choice we make for H since, as we are learning daily, they are different kiddos for sure!!

What did you choose for your family?

Goldfish Swim School

We started at Goldfish Swim School a few years ago. This place has given my boys such confidence and skills to use in the water. Bath time has become a practice area for swimming!

They are a franchise so you can find them in different cities all over the country. There are 3 in the Columbus, Ohio area.

I was thrilled to find a location near the Twin Cities.

If there is one near you, try it out! First class is usually free! Trust me, you and your family will love Goldfish Swim School!

Hot Mess Mama

Day light saving today. I really thought that with the “Spring Ahead” hour the boys would sleep until at least 7:30 am… they were up by 6:30 am, which in my mind was still 5:30 am.

How many cups of coffee is too much?! 3,5?! Well I needed those today! Thankfully both boys napped well and this Mama got to sneak a snooze too!

I hope you all are adjusting nicely to the time change! I know I’m super excited about the days with longer daylight. Come on summer!

The Brotherhood?

Well, these two right here….the Brothers. I may rule the Queendom, but they rule my heart. L is 3.75 years old and H is 1.25 years old.

These two are such amazing kids and it has been so wonderful (sometimes difficult) watching them learn and grow and become their own person.

Who am I?

img_6563

Well hello again! I’m Katie, the Queen of the Brotherhood. I’m 31 years old, married to my husband for just about 7 years and we’ve been together for about 13 years. We have two kind hearted boys and two crazy pups! I recently moved from Columbus, Ohio (we lived there almost 9 years) to Saint Paul, Minnesota. We left so many amazing friends (who really are our family) in Columbus, but we are looking forward to making new friends in our new state!

I am currently a SAHM (stay at home mom) with the most amazing support system (shout out to my MOMFIA) of family and friends all over the world!

Before staying at home, I was an elementary school teacher and a reading interventionist. I hope with the skills and tools I have from years of education that I’ll be able to continue to help young minds learn and grow!

Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you back here soon!

Welcome!

Hello Friends! Buckle up and enjoy the ride. I’m Katie and my family just moved to The Twin Cities from Columbus, Ohio. Join me, along with my husband, our two amazing kiddos, and our two crazy dogs on this adventure we call life. img_6486